Skip to content

by on March 19, 2009


Having successfully brewed a batch of mead, I decided that I wanted to try something else. I just read about how the Scots have a drink called Blaand which is made from fermenting whey from cheese-making in oak barrels. Having friends who make cheese for sale at the the local farmers’ market, I acquired a gallon of whey from them and decided to give it a try. I added brown sugar to the whey, because of a singular reference to a cordial made somewhere in the US of whey and brown sugar, and brought it to a boil. I strained out the protein that coagulated and then put the liquid in the fermenter. When it was cool enough, I added one packet of wine yeast, topped it with the airlock, and left it alone. Not more than a couple of hours later, the fermentation was vigorous indeed, as seen in the picture. That is the foam coming up the airlock and out the top. I racked it to a secondary on the 3rd day. We’ll see how it turns out.

Posted by Picasa
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

