Skip to content

The summer churn

by on July 2, 2009

I guess it is the heat here in Houston. This week I got the sudden urge to make lots and lots of sorbet, sherbet, and ice cream. –I’d really like to try a spoom as well! Come to think of it, spoom would be a good way to use the egg whites that are left over from making the ice cream base. — The only ice cream machine I have is the old fashioned kind that you have to put ice and salt around; this is great fun when you have a couple of hours to kill, but it doesn’t work so well with small batches. Thankfully, I was able to borrow a friend’s counter-top model.

Last summer, I put away watermelon juice in the freezer for later consumption; it is now indeed later, and I have yet to consume a gallon or so. Wanting to use my supply and to have variety as well, I adapted a honeydew sorbet recipe from Bo Friberg’s The Professional Pastry Chef to make both Watermelon and Limecello and Watermelon and Chocolate-mint sorbets.

This was the first time that I made a sorbet with some sort of stabilizer. The recipe called for gum tragacanth powder and powered pectin. Not having the tragacanth, I subsituted 1/2 of the amount of xanthan gum. There was a noticeable increase in viscosity, after incorporating the xanthan gum and pectin with a stick blender . I churned the mix last night and so far I am very pleased. The surface of both sorbets look like they are wet and glossy, but the ice crystals are perfectly formed and there is no weeping so far.

Here are the sorbet recipes:

Watermelon Limecello Sorbet

Watermelon Chocolate-Mint Sorbet

Many thanks to Danny for lending me his counter-top ice cream maker and to Swede Farm for the supply of chocolate-mint !

Next to spin in the machine: goat cheese ice cream and Texas Hill Country peach ice cream!

From → Experiments, Recipes

One Comment
  1. Thanks for the sorbet recipe. I’m having guests for dinner and I need a palate cleanser.

Leave a Reply

