Skip to content

Candied Ginger

by on November 3, 2009

Candying ginger slicesThis experiment wasn’t planned; I was shopping, saw the ginger and it called out to me. (Ask my family, all sorts of food calls out to me while shopping.) I have this problem with buying things, bringing them home, and allowing them to languish on the counter, or shrivel up in the fridge. Determined not to do this, I had to do something with the ginger. So, I candied it. And I have a fascination of substituting honey for sugar in applications, so I did.

After peeling (actually I just scraped the skin off with a small spoon), I had 3 1/4 oz ginger. I sliced it about 1/8th inch thick and put the slices in a small saucepan with 1/2 cup each of water and local wildflower honey. Brought it to a simmer and tried to keep it there until it had reduce by a third. Thus, the liquid was almost back to the consistency that the original honey was. Poured the liquid and slices into a glass jar so that I could refrigerate it when cool.

I must say that this is one of the few experiments substituting honey where the main ingredient was not overwhelmed by the honey. Because the ginger is so pungent, I think it benefited from the strong base sweetener; When eating a slice of the candied ginger you almost cannot taste the honey. It acts a a supporting flavor.

Application: the honey is great to sweeten tea. You can also muddle a slice or two in a glass for drinks or hot tea.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

