Skip to content

Almond milk

by on August 3, 2010

About a year ago I experimented with making milk out of almonds and pecans, separately. I soaked the nuts overnight, blended them in a high-speed blender (Vita-mix), and strained. I don’t remember what measurements I used, or how I strained everything.

For some reason, maybe because I keep hearing how good almonds and other nuts are for your health, I got the hankering to make almond milk again. Note: actually I was looking for how to make a super fine almond flour, got distracted by making almond oil, and ended up looking into making almond milk again. So, here’s what I did (skipping the whole distraction part). I

  • Turned to google to see what other people have done: 1st, there are very few journal articles about nut milks, their production, and nutrition. 2nd, everyone and their mother has a method for making nut milks.
  • Put 1 cup of raw unblanched almonds in 2 cups of water on the counter for about 12 hours.
  • Drained the water and placed the almonds in my vitamix with another 2 cups of water.
  • Blended for about a minute, starting on low speed and gradually increasing to high speed over a period of about 15 seconds.
  • Strained the mixture through a fine mesh, metal strainer (same mesh as a tea strainer).
  • The mixture was so thick that I really had to squeeze the mixture against the strainer to get liquid to come out.
  • So, back into the blender went the thick mixture with another 2 cups of water; I stirred and then re-strained, being sure to press the solids against the strainer mesh with a rubber spatula to ensure that I got all the good stuff out.
  • Back to my original goal of making almond flour, I took the solids and put them on a silpat on a sheetpan in the oven with the light on. I hope to be able to pulverize them once dry.
  • The milk went in the fridge for breakfast.
  • To enjoy, I usually add a very small pinch of Celtic sea salt to enhance the flavor and just a bit of agave nectar to round out the natural sweetness of the almond.

Next time I will also filter the milk through cheese cloth because it has a fine grit that disrupts the smooth mouth-feel that you expect from a milk.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

